February 13, 2022
DO YOU NEED A LICENSE TO DO LASH EXTENSIONS IN NORTH CAROLINA?
DO YOU NEED A LICENSE TO DO LASH EXTENSIONS IN NORTH CAROLINA
The short answer is a resounding YES!
We get it! Lashing is a fun profession that allows you to be your own boss. And a lash class costing around $1000-$1500 seems like a relatively small investment to launch a whole new career. But be careful! In North Carolina, it’s not quite that simple:
Unfortunately, there are unscrupulous teachers and academies who will tell you they’ll CERTIFY you to do lashes. But not so fast…. certification and licensure are NOT the same thing! Anyone can take a class to certify them to do lashes. The certificate is issued from the company providing the training and often only states that you took their class. It is not valid to purchase quality supplies from a reputable manufacturer or distributor and it’s not enough to allow you to practice your craft for pay in a salon or spa in North Carolina. (P.S. North Carolina also considers pay for services to come in many forms: trading things like babysitting or dinner is “consideration” and the law will prosecute for that payment as much as it will for actual cash money!)
Instead, in North Carolina, you must be licensed as an esthetician or cosmetologist. This law is governed by the North Carolina State Board of Cosmetic Arts Examiners and they are clear: In NC General Statute 88-B, they state that to obtain this license you must graduate from the respective cosmetic art school, pass the Board exams (both written and practical) and apply and pay for licensure. (Exact verbiage here:
Not only will licensing make you more trustworthy to clients, but it also ensures that you will have the skills to maintain sanitation and safety with clients’ eyes and in fact, protect your own health! Be very careful of an eyelash extension training class that doesn’t require proof of a cosmetology or esthetics course before enrollment. Be very careful about enrolling for a certificate course without your license.
While many schools charge extra for lash certification during the licensing process, Dermacademy and Aisling Institute include it in our curriculums. Our instructors are licensed estheticians and cosmetologists as well as licensed instructors, but they are also certified lash artists. Additionally, we offer a class for those who are already licensed professionals. The course includes one-on-one work with one of our instructors with instruction in consultation, lash application and maintenance and safety and sanitation protocols.
Call us today to talk to admissions about licensure or certification! Classes start monthly!